1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CrossFit

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by phoenixverde, Jun 27, 2013.

1. phoenixverde

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    I am looking at joining a crossfit in my city. I am going to call one of the owners tomorrow and the guy said that I can do 3 days of free.

I am not in shape, but very eager to workout. They said that they work with anyone at any stage of fitness. They website makes them seem like a more of a community than just a gym.

Anyway, does anyone have some wisdom to pass on about Crossfit?

2. ioden

I've been doing crossfit for 2 months or so.

Crossfit is sold as something anyone can do, which is true. But that also requires that your trainer is capable enough to test your physical ability so s/he sets the intensity of the workout in the most fitting way as possible. That means that if you were sedentary, you won't start lifting the official weights, doing the official reps or things like that.

The trainer should also be able to explain quite well movements and constantly check your progress. You won't start off doing the movements well, and your trainer has to be constantly correcting them. Always listen to what your trainer says, unless you know better for sure. Trainers should have general knowledge of health and nutrition, so they can help you with any doubt you have, or tell you to go to a professional.

Crossfit is very competitive. Every excercise is timed and speed in repetitions is quite valued. That can be stressful for some. The best way to approach is to improve yourself and never compare your performance with others'. Trying to be the best of all the community will make you work your body more than you're capable of, and you'll get injured. Focus on improving yourself.