1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Am I bi or gay if I don't find male nudity arousing? What is attraction? Confused.

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by Silvermoon, Sep 2, 2013.

1. Silvermoon

Silvermoon Guest

I am having trouble determining if I am bi or lesbian, and I have managed to confuse myself repeatedly.
    I know I like women, so I will not get into this aspect that much here, but I don't know if I like men so please help me clarify things.

I have once come out as gay, only to crawl back under the bi label because I have had some experiences with men after the "thunder and lighting" girlfriend experience. Now I am questioning this because my relationships with men repeatedly fail on the sexual/emotional level, and I am struggling to know whether I am actually sexually attracted to men or just confusing attraction to the person/desire for intimacy with sexual attraction.

1)With men I get primarily attracted to their personality. I can look at a man and think he is good looking, but I don't feel that male bodies are "hot" as such.

2)Female bodies arouse me, if I look at a photo of a nude "hot" guy and a "hot" girl, the girl will make me turned on, the guy not. So far I have assumed that this is not an obstacle to identifying as bi, since I did want to be close to guys in a romantic way, but I am not sure.

3) I have had relationships with both men and women, so far mostly men. I can fall in love with a guy and love him. A woman can make me feel electrified, and the sex is more emotionally fulfilling and more charged.

4) I can be fascinated by a guys personality and mind, and have sometimes fallen for men whom I have found physically unattractive, the sex was good, but not as great as with a woman. It was a means of getting close to them.