1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Confused about how to proceed

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by serpentis, Nov 16, 2013.

1. serpentis

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    So since about senior year in high school I have been questioning my sexual orientation after a long (17 years) of identifying as straight with no questioning at all. I am now a freshman in college and I have still not had any homosexual encounters. I have run into an interesting roadblock though and I am truly unsure how to proceed. Recently, I have found a girl that I felt that I had chemistry with. At first she rejected me saying that she "just wanted to be friends" after a few casual encounters. She explained that she was afraid of being committed after breaking up with her long time boyfriend a year and a half ago. About a month later she came up to me and we had a two hour long conversation about how she thinks that she is ready to try commitment again. While we were talking I was excited, nervous and happy that she would consider again (I also felt undeniable in the moment sexual attraction). The next day though I began to question myself though. I have recently come to some sort of acceptance that I have same-sex attraction (unsure about emotional attraction though). The problem though is my mind refuses to accept that I could be bisexual and heavily pushes me towards trying to accept that I am 100% gay (I have serious doubts about this though). I am afraid that if I continue to repress this side of me I will be unable to live happily in a committed relationship with anyone knowing that I have never explored this part of me, and that I may eventually break her heart (it hurts me extremely thinking that I may hurt her in this way). At the same time, I am afraid that if I miss this opportunity to date her I will miss out on a chance to explore a relationship with a girl (never dated seriously bef