1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

People who spent a while questioning- what helped you figure yourself out?

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by Ginger Hobbit, Dec 3, 2013.

1. Ginger Hobbit

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hi everyone. I apologize for the novel I'm about to write. I'm another person who's all sorts of confused. I've been questioning my orientation for several years and I don't have many people I can talk to about it, so I'm kind of lost. I know this is something I have to figure out on my own, but I was hoping there are some people out there who have gone through that awkward questioning period and could help me out.

Here's where I am:

I'm 21 and female and I've been questioning since I was 14 or so (although I spent much of that time convincing myself that it was just a phase, everyone has questions, and statistically speaking I was probably straight). I've dated 2 guys, but it didn't really feel "right" and in both cases I figured out I wanted an awesome friendship, not a relationship (I'm still friends with both).

I've realized I like girls. I've fallen for a couple of my female friends, but haven't told any of them because they're straight and/or in relationships. Plus I'm way too shy and telling them sounds scary.

I can't tell if I like guys. When I was little, I had a couple little-kid crushes on them, but I never really wanted to do anything about it and I preferred the company of my female friends. I can tell when I think a guy looks good, but I can't tell if I find him attractive or just aesthetically appealing.

Has anybody gone through anything similar? How did you figure yourself out? I know this is something that takes time and I'm not looking for a clear-cut answer to my problems, but it feels like I have no direction and I'm just swimming in questions and confusion.