1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

For the "wrong reason"?

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by EmilyKitten, Feb 13, 2014.

1. EmilyKitten

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Hi! I'm new to this lovely forum, and I was gonna write an intro in the welcome board but I'm actually quite shy...
    That aside, someone said something to me recently that has kinda thrown me for a loop, and since there isn't anyone I can really talk to about it I found this site with the help of google in the hope of getting some other opinions on it.
    For a while now, I've noticed I like girls a lot more than I like men in all sorts of ways. When I picture myself in a relationship, the image of being with a girl makes me a lot happier than being with a guy and less... uneasy, I guess. I have a trans male friend who I'm really close to, and we've been hanging out together for years so I figured that he'd probably be more accepting of me since he's talked to me about how we ought to respect everyone's life choices and sexuality. When I talked to him about my feelings, he said that I was considering girls for the wrong reasons. I've had a lot of really bad experiences with men, and if I'm being honest I don't feel safe around them save for a select few such as close family or friends, and he pointed that out, saying that maybe I was just too scared of men now to date one and that would be the wrong reason to decide to date girls.
    I mean, he's not directly off the mark. I am really scared of guys and don't want to get intimate with one either physically or romantically. I don't even want to imagine it. Is that really a wrong reason for me to consider being with another girl, though? I can't tell at all, and if it is the wrong reason I'd like to know before I hurt someone unintentionally.

2. Simple Thoughts

Oh dear...that's rough.