1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ugh... Unknown Orientation Crush

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by newfish, Mar 10, 2014.

1. newfish

Sorry for the long post, but there's kind of a lot.

I've got that maybe-straight crush that I told myself I would NOT HAVE! :bang: I'm a sophomore in high school and he's a freshman, but I'm young for my grade so there's only a few months between us. He's funny and cute, but probably off-limits. We will call this crush A, because "he" gets kind of confusing".

If he's gay, he is DEFINITELY in the closet. He does have some of the typical stereotypical gay characteristics, but his older brother (we'll call him B) is an out of the closet flamboyant guy who also goes to my high school. So besides the fact that femme is just a generalization, I don't think this is a good indicator. A has never had a girlfriend (that I know of), but we're 14 and he's a freshman, so that doesn't seem to say much. He also doesn't make any homophobic comments or anything, but again, gay brother.

We're both in the chorus/theatre/band group, but we hang out with different people - in part because of the age difference. We get along, but we're not close. This means it would be really awkward to come out to him specifically. So all I can really do is things like "Oh, you're hungry? HERE EAT ALL MY PIZZA (oh and by the way you're cute, but do not say aloud)."

Anyway, I had resolved to tell him I liked him next year and try to ask him out. That way if he was gay, he wouldn't be just a freshman - which would probably make it more difficult to come out for him. Even if he isn't, we'd know each other better. But on the other hand I think, I have been crushing on him since the start of the year.

Thank you to those that read the whole thing. Thoughts?

Also I'm pretty sure this is in the wrong location but I have no clue how to move it now.

#1 newfish, Mar 10, 2014