1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to stop caring about labels?

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by wontwalkblindly, Apr 28, 2014.

1. wontwalkblindly

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I've been questioning my sexuality for a couple years now, and I've gone through multiple labels...but none of them seem quite right for me. Not even just "queer" fits me perfectly. I know that a lot of people choose not to use a label. I wish I didn't care about a label, but I do. Is there anyway to stop caring or any tricks on finding a label that fits me? Thanks

2. Emulator

Would it help if you created your own labels? Something that you feel summarises you. You can even call it "myself", and there you go, you've invented your own label. :slight_smile:

Try to think about it as who you are that matters, not what you are. As in...it's the substance that counts, not the name for it. Someone could change the meanings of each label, but who would change their sexuality to the new meaning, just for the sake of keeping their label?

All the best. :thumbsup:

3. ChromeNerd

Out Status:
    A few people
    I have the same problem. I sometimes convince myself that I don't need a label and than I give up and try to find one again.

4. TurtleCat

I wish I knew the answer! I have the same problem, and I'm pretty sure I have anxiety + OCD or at least OCD tendencies, so it's even worse. I constantly worry if something "makes" me gay, straight, bi, etc. I think what makes it hard is that sexuality really is such a complex thing -- it's very rarely cut and dry. So it can be really hard to know things for sure, which drives a person like me mad.