1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please! I need help! I don't know what I am

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by Eleanor, May 16, 2014.

1. Eleanor

Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Long post is long. Please read it.

So… I am on my 20’s and I have been questioning my sexuality for more than ten years now. When I was a kid I used to have “boyfriends” – or what adults would call any boys that I befriended. When I was like 12 or 13, I had a big crush on my best friend – a girl too – and that really confused me. I never had many friends and she was very sweet to me. She was also very beautiful and looked older that we were, like 15 or 17. Since I was studying at the time in a Catholic school and my family is also very Catholic (the gays-are-going-to-hell kind), I never could talk to them about that so I didn’t know how to feel– I don’t think that, at that time, I even knew that gay people, or everyone that doesn’t fits the straight-label, existed. She ended up moving to another city some time later, what put an end to it. I got other crushes, this time on boys, and got a boyfriend for a while – that, should I say, I just hang out. We never did anything remotely like kissing or any other stuff.

Then came high school. I changed schools, and surprise! Once more, I crushed on a girl friend for almost two years. I was really jealous of her with her boyfriend – also one of my best friends - but I never said anything to them. It was the first time that I really had a “group” of friends and, unfortunately, they were all very homophobic and I was very afraid of their reaction – I didn’t want to lose them. After that, I had crushes on some boys but they also went nowhere. During high school, I started researching about glbt and, after some time, confusion, anxiety and reflection, I privately started to label myself as bisexual.