1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I have been questioning my sexual orientation for 10 years. What do you think?

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by Ottilie, Aug 12, 2014.

1. Ottilie

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Hi everyone,

I just want to apologize in advance for this post being so long, but I have been dealing with this for 10 years and have never really let my feelings out, even to myself. I would greatly appreciate your help in figuring out what my sexual orientation is.

Before the age of 11, I never questioned being straight. I had many crushes on boys. I was actually a pretty flirty child. I had both male and female friends, although I often found girls to be catty and generally preferred boys personality wise because of this. However, my best friend was female.

However, I became very confused about my sexual orientation in sixth grade. (I had gotten my period the summer before sixth grade, which I suppose might be important to note.) I became obsessed with one of my female teachers. She was in her 30s and was very pretty. I liked looking at her and would always remember exactly what she wore each day. I wanted to learn more about her, so I spent a lot of time looking up information about her online. I never "fantasized" about her - in fact, I'm not sure if I've ever really had a fantasy about anyone - but I did dream about spending time with her. I also had one dream where she was literally a queen and all of the other teachers were bowing down to her. This teacher never paid particular attention to me, but I liked her more than teachers who actually liked me.