1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

in my case specifically, does the answer really matter?

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by wisdom seeker, Sep 2, 2014.

1. wisdom seeker

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Hi, I'm going to immediately ask for forgiveness and gentle instruction if I happen to use incorrect terminology or phrasing. I'm new to this and my only wish is to be respectful of everyone while I learn. My big question is, if I'm happily married and my answer would not change that fact, is it worth putting in the energy to determine whether I'm bisexual or not? I've been carrying the question of my orientation around for some time now, kind of like an itch in the back of my brain. I grew up in the church. My faith is still very important to me. It's taken me a long time to sort out my feeling and understanding of how my faith and homosexuality work together beyond what was obvious to me, that God loves everyone. I finally feel like I've sorted all that out in my head (at least essentially). However, growing up as I did, I never considered bisexuality a possibility. I had the occasional feeling (ok maybe more than occasional), but because I definitely like men I simply suppressed those feelings. I met my husband young, and married him relatively young (entirely by choice based on love). I wouldn't change a thing, but I often still have that nagging question with those feelings. I wonder if I just never had the opportunity to really explore that growing up. I wonder if I'm just thinking too hard and I'm really straight and my desire to love everyone equally and support other people's struggles with empathy had gotten me confused. I wonder if my attraction to women is just projecting myself onto that woman because I want her experience. I have a lot of health issues and limited energy, so I have to pick and choose where I put my energy. If I expend this energy to figure ou