1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't shake the doubt

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by TheStormInside, Oct 7, 2014.

1. TheStormInside

I've been questioning my orientation for over 7 months now... several months ago I determined I am most likely lesbian. I've come out to a few friends as "probably gay." I am having trouble shaking my doubts and fears of being wrong, however. I worry that I will come out to everyone and then later find I was confabulating and confusing my feelings. Or that it is some kind of "phase" that I'm cycling through and it will eventually pass. I have trouble reconciling the feelings I've had for men with my attraction toward women, though I know right now I am only interested in being involved physically with women, not men. And that though I've had romantic feelings for both in the past, I've never had any desire for a sexual relationship with a man.

Sometimes I feel like a fraud, I tell myself I can't be gay, that's not me and I'm just playing a part. I recognize these thoughts are probably false, if I look at my feelings objectively I'm a woman attracted to women. But part of me still thinks it anyway.

Can anyone relate to this? Is this some kind of "bargaining" or indication that I'm having trouble accepting things fully? How can I move past this? I've never been with a woman so I feel like that may be causing some of my doubt. But at the same time I can't exactly sleep with every man I meet to determine whether I want it or not, either, it just doesn't make any sense.

2. DarkestDream

I can relate to your story. I was married for ten years, but I was attracted to women, so I thought I must be bi. I thought, am I just deluding myself? When I finally divorced, I was able to explore who I was, and now I don't question myself. :slight_smile:

3. TheStormInside