1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sexuality changing over time? Also, guilt about sexuality?

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by ava505, Mar 23, 2015.

1. ava505

Out Status:
    Some people
    Is it possible for sexuality to change over time? Overall, I think I identify as a bisexual because I have pretty much always been interested in both boys and girls. However, which one I prefer changes pretty drastically over time. Sometimes I'll go through a few months of thinking "yeah, ok, that was just a phase. I'm straight." But not long later I'll start questioning if I even like guys at all. At this particular moment in time, I really like a girl and just overall I am more attracted to them. But I know that by sometime in the summer I'll probably be back to feeling more 50/50. I've been bouncing back and forth like this for 3-4 years, ever since I started having crushes. However, the more time that goes on, the more I find myself leaning more and more towards girls. So yeah, all this to say - can sexuality be so lenient?

On a different note, how do you deal with feeling guilt for being attracted to girls? I have grown up in a very accepting community and never been around extremely homophobic people, but every time I feel really turned on my a girl I get this really icky guilty feeling. Thoughts?

2. backpaged

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    You are just like me, except at some point I realized it wasn't my sexuality I was confused about, it was my gender. Sexuality is totally fluid and it won't always be the same for most people over time. But perhaps you're like me in that it isn't necessarily the orientation that changes but something else more subtle.

3. woahthatsboring