1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bisexual analogy

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by Jax12, Mar 25, 2015.

1. Jax12

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    So in a different thread, I asked what it meant to appreciate the opposite gender's looks. I've gotten tons of great answers, with the cake analogy being the best way to explain it (to me at least).

I guess I'm new to the whole bisexual label. Using a similar analogy, I thought of bisexuality like this:

When it comes to dessert, I like ice cream and tiramisu. While ice cream has a variety of flavours, tiramisu is limited to a certain coffee taste. Visually, tiramisu will catch my eye more, but in terms of taste, ice cream beats tiramisu. However, from day to day, my preferences change. There's some days when I want ice cream, and other days where I crave tiramisu.

So what are your thoughts on bisexuality? And how did you come to terms with it?

2. Lyana

I just don't understand this line... why is tiramisu limited to a certain taste? ^^ I don't get it.

My bisexuality has never been about "craving" anything. Even when I assumed I was straight, I never "craved" a certain gender. I don't know what that feels like, craving only guys at some point. I can't remember ever craving a gender in general. It's just, I develop crushes and am attracted to certain specific people, and these people can be any gender.
    As for coming to terms with it, well... I just thought it was pretty cool. Not a big deal.

3. biAnnika

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I get where you're coming from, Jax. And I suffer from food-analogy addiction myself. *smile*