1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Struggling to admit it to myself... advice please.

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by Scottmcdonn, Apr 1, 2015.

1. Scottmcdonn

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    This is my first time admitting this. I've been confused about my sexuality since I was 14. I never had many friends in school and to avoid being more of an outcast, I did normal teenage boy things and got a girlfriend. Nothing sexual ever occurred, it was more just wanting to fit in. That ended nearly 4 years. I haven't had any relationships or even a date since then because I wanted to figure things out. 4 years on, I am still none the wiser.

While I am pretty confident that I am gay, I have the dreams, fantasy's, I am just afraid to admit it to myself because once I do, there is no going back. I have never had a gay experience and the thought of it happening in future both excites me and terrifies me. Being where I am, It's a really lonely place because I have nobody to talk too so advice is always welcome :slight_smile:

I don't know any gay people currently but Where I live, there is this outcomers place where young gay people meet to chat and stuff. I walk past that place every day thinking today is the day im going to go in and start living my life again. I haven't gone in yet due to fear.

I have tried to repress these feelings for years but they don't go away. I just want these doubts and anxieties to go away so I can be happy again. There was a time when I was 15 or 16 where I would have found women attractive. Now... I don't even think of women. I think I am slowly progressing but any advice about dealing with it etc would be very appreciated :slight_smile:

I am grateful that I can admit these type of things for the first time without feeling judged or a laughing stock so thank you everybody :slight_smile:

2. Jax12