1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I can't deal with the not knowing

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by Music Girl, Jun 1, 2015.

1. Music Girl

Music Girl Guest

Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I've been questioning for 2 years at this point, and I can't take it anymore. It's sucking up all of my free time. I find myself thinking about my sexual orientation almost all the time. Zoning out during class, becoming detached from my family and friends... I can't take it anymore. It's driving me insane! I'm pretty sure I like girls, but I'm not even confident in that sense! I don't know if I'm bi, gay, homoflexible, heteroflexible... GAH. I don't know what I like and I feel like my entire life is being put on hold for this.

I'm starting to wonder if questioning is pointless, since most bi/gay people (that weren't in denial) say that they had known from a really young age. I mean, my family is totally liberal and supportive and open, and I am too. There's no reason for me to be in denial... And what if I turn out to just be straight? What then? Am I only questioning because it's such a great time and place to be openly gay? That if this were, say, 1980, I wouldn't be questioning at all because I wouldn't even be exposed to gay relationships? I don't know what I am, and I just can't take it.

2. bubbles123

bubbles123 Guest

I'm sorry to hear you're feeling this way. I actually can relate a lot as questioning has become very distracting and overwhelming for me too. I don't know if I'm questioning because I'm actually not straight or for another reason. For me, the other reason is that whenever guys would like me, it scared me. It was a fear of relationships that caused me to question and it could very well be the same if a girl liked me I think. Could there be a reason similar to this that you're questioning?