1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Female, sexually & emotionally attracted to females, sexually attracted to males

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by kts, Jun 20, 2015.

1. kts

kts

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Hi everyone. It's my first time posting here and I'm in need of advice, not sure where else to go or who to talk to. Any insights/opinions are welcome.

I'm a 19 yr old girl, and for as long as I can remember I've never really cared about dating. Most of my friends started dating when they were 15/16 and some of my closest friends are in long term relationships currently. I know I'm still young so it's not really a big deal. Anyway, I've never been in a relationship, and as I mentioned, that never really phased me. I've had 2 casual 'arrangements' that were solely sexual and they were both bothered. I like spending time on my own and I'm very independent. I don't deal well with clingy people or too much affection, so I've always just thought relationships weren't for me.

Over the past 6 or so months, however, I've developed an interest in being with someone. I think I'm a bit lonely after so many years of keeping at a distance from this stuff. During this time I've really allowed myself to think about relationships and who I'm attracted to, and it became so clear that I'm not only interested in men.

I came to this realisation when I was going through a bit of a hard time: a close friend of mine had just left the country to go back to her home (exchange student) after we spent 6 months living together, doing everything together, travelling together, cooking together etc. Looking back on it now, it kind of felt like a relationship (without the sex of course, and I know my feelings weren't reciprocated).