1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I've been confused for a long time. Any observations or suggestions welcome.

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by Diana, Jun 21, 2015.

1. Diana

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Hello, I'm new to the site, and I've decided to reach out because I've been very confused about myself for a long time. I've never talked seriously to anyone about this, so I'm sorry if I say anything that's ridiculous or use terms incorrectly. I'm new to talking about this, so here goes:

I am a 27 year old woman, and at this point I'm guessing that I'm some variety of asexual, but I'm not sure. I've only been in one relationship in my life, which was with a man, and I never felt particularly passionate about it. In fact, I found his sexual desire off-putting. I've always outwardly identified as straight, but if I'm really honest with myself, I've found both men and women attractive to varying degrees.

It seems that much of the confusion comes from the fact that all of my sexual and romantic feelings are very mild, and become muddled together and difficult to separate. Am I finding a certain man or woman attractive because they're an interesting person whose personality I admire and want to be closer to? Am I just appreciating his or her body in an aesthetic sense, or am I actually feeling a kind of attraction? The difference between appreciating someone's beauty and feeling attracted to them is very unclear for me.

In high school I had two crushes - one was a class clown type of guy whose personality and charm I really admired. The other - and the one I've never told anyone about - was a female friend who I developed an attachment to that was probably more than just friendship. I was really confused about my feelings for her and didn't want to ruin a friendship, so I dismissed them as teenage hormonal weirdness, never told anyone, and moved on.