1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Having trouble with labels - not straight, not bi

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by mmmelody, Jun 28, 2015.

1. mmmelody

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    All but family
    Hey guys. Newbie here :eusa_danc

I've recently come to accept the fact that I am not straight. It's been a long time coming - I've always known I was attracted to women, but the idea of being not-straight scared me for a while. I think living in New York and meeting people all over the rainbow spectrum helped me feel more comfortable with myself.

I'm only out to my younger sister, but I'm not thinking about coming out quite yet. First, I want to know if there's a name for what I am, exactly.

I'm not straight, but I'm attracted to men a slight majority of the time, so I don't think I'm totally bi, either. I've taken a few online Kinsey scale quizzes and they keep churning out "mostly heterosexual," but I really don't like that label. It's clunky and long and I don't feel like it represents me. It sounds like I'm trying to defend myself. "Oh, I mean, I like girls but I'm MOSTLY heterosexual, I swear."

One other thing - I've never had a serious relationship. I've dated two guys, neither of whom became boyfriends, and I just had my first kiss (with a guy) a few months ago. The thing is, while I'm attracted to them, guys terrify me. I'm basically the female version of Raj from The Big Bang Theory - I can't talk to them unless there's alcohol in me, which there rarely is. Pretty much all of my friends are girls, and I just understand girls and get along with them so much better. When I'm talking to guys I just freeze up and get super awkward.

I've also never had a romantic/sexual experience with a woman. I just know that I'm both sexually and romantically attracted to them somewhere between 30-40% of the time.