1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I feel like "I'm not allowed" to call myself a lesbian because of no relationship exp

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by TeaTree, Oct 14, 2015.

1. TeaTree

Or before having any experience with women?
    Does anyone else have this issue?

Maybe people who have had relationship experience with the opposite sex only but later realized that were gay.

This is really messing with my head. I feel like I'm "fake" or cannot consider myself part of lgbt until I will have real life experience. I think if I were below twenty or something, I wouldn't have a problem with it.

But being 34 and after a ltr and several short ones with men I feel I'm not allowed to be gay.

It's like a catch 22 - I can't date women yet because I feel I'm not a lesbian because I have no dating experience with women yet...:icon_bigg

2. ebda30

Out Status:
    A few people
    Re: I feel like "I'm not allowed" to call myself a lesbian because of no relationship

Yea I'm there, not from lack of experience. Ive never had relationships with women but have been with women sexually but because I've only he'd relationships with men. Married to a man. Ive always had this internal conversation about, i cant be gay, ive only been with men, or i cant be gay cause im married. I can be bisexual, but cant say that cause im outwardly hetero living. Its been 5+yrs of this battle going on, sincethe first time i even dare write anything publicly about my questioning. I locked it away then, cant seem to now.

But im there. I feel like with being in a hetero relationship, my only long term relationship at that. Coming out as a lesbian will not be taken well or people will think im fake? Idk.but i know what you are feeling and it just adds tothe confusion of all this!

3. waternation

waternation Guest

Re: I feel like "I'm not allowed" to call myself a lesbian because of no relationship