1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I still cannot accept that I am actually gay.

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by Laura27, Oct 30, 2015.

1. Laura27

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I don't want to be gay. I really, really don't.

I struggle with massive social anxiety and ADHD. I am weird and nervous all the time. I have enough to worry about. I don't also want to be gay. That's about it.

And I try so hard, I tell people I am bisexual and have an open relationship with my boyfriend. I can have sex with men after drinking a lot, so I drink a lot. And I keep trying to enjoy one night stands. I feel so empty and unfulfilled.

Now I am nearly 21, which means I have wasted 5 years of my life knowing but denying my true sexuality. I hate myself. I am currently studying abroad, which gives me the opportunity to analyze my life somewhat detached from it. I notice that I see women I like everywhere. I would never come up to one because I feel so predatory and disgusting. In order to feel wanted I go home with men.

I thought I was doing okay but I am really not okay. I feel stuck and empty. Most of my friends are lgbtqa+ or allies, and everyone accepts me as a bisexual, but somewhere I have the idea that because I am such an anxious, weird person, being a lesbian is out of the question. I know it is flawed logic but I cannot handle the truth and I don't know why.

My boyfriend knows I am way more into women than into men, I told him I am most likely 100% a lesbian, but he keeps holding on to me because he is as anxious about being alone as I am. He makes me feel guilty. I have tried breaking up with him two times, and wanted to do so even more but it never is the time, especially now that I am away. And I also greatly fear being alone, since I suffer from an anxiety disorder. I can't handle the unknown.