1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

So if repression can't be felt...

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by ModernCat, Nov 25, 2015.

1. ModernCat

ModernCat Guest

Quote "Repression is the unconscious blocking of unacceptable thoughts, feelings and impulses. The key to repression is that people do it unconsciously, so they often have very little control over it."

How do I know if I'm repressing my feelings at all?

2. Alder

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I suppose you can't really know about repressed feelings (since they're mainly unconscious), though I'm no expert. I'll tackle your thread in regards to specifically just sexual/romantic orientation, since it's in this section of EC.

From a personal POV/experience, I suppose what you can do is normalize things to yourself (e.g. normalize the possibility of an attraction towards the same sex, normalize the idea of being gay, irrelevant of whether or not you think you might be- after all, you probably don't know at this point, if you're repressing a lot of things), and work on reversing previously internalized homophobia or toxicity, if relevant.