1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

College Guy Questioning Sexuality: Thoughts?

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by espn8ocho, Jan 4, 2016.

1. espn8ocho

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Hi everyone! First, thanks for taking the time to read this note. I have been questioning my sexuality for about two years, and while I have made progress, I haven't quite pinned it down yet. I am writing this entry to see if anyone else has had a similar experience and to solicit thoughts and advice. I am going to write as honestly as possible. I know that sometimes people project hidden biases and expectations into these narratives, so to the best of my ability I am going to keep everything explicit.

I am currently 21 years old, male, living on the east coast and in my senior year of college. I am handsome (from what I've been told haha) and masculine and don't fit gay or bisexual stereotypes.

Sexual attraction kicked in for me in 5th grade. There was a girl in my class who I liked and kissed at the end of the year. Middle school (6th-8th grade) had more exploration. My eyes followed the attractive girls, and I asked a few girls out on middle school dates, but my eyes also followed guys. I didn't worry too much about the "male noticing" because I figured I was just appreciating their popularity or good looks or the fact that they attracted hot girls. Around 7th or 8th grade, I navigated my way to Jackinworld and searched average penis size and all that stuff. Eventually I found my way to homo erotica. I started to watch homo erotica exclusively and enjoyed it. The question "Am I gay?", perhaps surprisingly, didn't even occur to me at this point. One day my parents found my web searches on the computer and asked me about them. I knew that watching homo erotica was not "appropriate", so I said I was not gay and just curious. That was the end of it. My folks never asked again.