1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Confused and feeling lost

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by lindarhia12, Jan 17, 2016.

1. lindarhia12

Hi Everyone! I've been wanting to post here for a while. I'm so glad I found this community: thanks for being here.

I really need some help/advice/thoughts on a pretty distressing situation I'm dealing with. I'm a woman in my early thirties who has had very little experience with relationships. It's possible that I fall on the very edge of the Asexual spectrum, however I also suspect that my lack of experience/desire stems from a pretty severe anxiety disorder. I'm really not sure.

I have had some experiences with men that were pretty unsatisfying, but have also experienced strong romantic/sexual attraction to women - though I never acted on these as I was too inhibited ... However I have always suspected I am bisexual on the basis of this history.

Now I'm in my 30s I feel a little more confident about exploring things. However the stress about my sexuality has just blown right up. I'm always close to tears about it, mainly because of a few things which I would really love any input on:

1. I feel so so confused and have very little idea on how to explore sexuality. Also due to being half-way through a PhD, I'm stuck living with my parents and meeting stressful deadlines. My parents are not religious or conservative but they are super overprotective and tend to be really stifling. I'm definitely not ready to share this stuff with them yet. And certainly can't bring boy/girlfriends home.

2. The other thing is that I'm scared about age. I just turned 33 and feel so old to be going through this. I wish I'd had the courage to deal with this in my 20s... My anxiety just suppressed so much, now I've woken up and it has hit me. But now I feel like I've left it all so late.