1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Your experience telling people whilst questioning?

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by Confuseddude, Mar 11, 2016.

1. Confuseddude

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Hi,

I've been questioning my sexuality for around 18 months now. Still really unsure of exactly 'what I am.' I'm lucky in that I have parents and friends who I am very confident would be very supportive even if not exactly thrilled by it. Whatever 'it' is.

Pretty much the only thing that has been certain throughout the 18 months of questioning is the fact that I am not straight. On the kinsey scale I could be anything from a 1.5 to a 5.5. I do believe that I am slowly getting ever so slightly closer to something of a proper understanding of my sexuality but it has been and will continue to be an unbelievably slow process unraveling the truth.

Knowing that I'm not straight I have of course thought about coming out. It seems inevitable that day will come so I've given it some thought. It's scary as hell but yeah I can deal with it. I'm confident of that and I'm lucky because I've got good people around me. BUT, whilst I can do it, it wont be fun. No, it will be fu**ing horrible and if I'm really honest I could do without it lol.

I've said for a long time that I would come out as soon as or very soon after I establish, with confidence, exactly what my sexuality is. The trouble is when this whole journey began I had no idea that in 18 months I would still be so far away from clarity. Like I said, I do feel that I make progress every day but it's ridiculously slow. It might be months but I have to face the reality that it may be years until I solve this beautifully complex puzzle life has thrown at me. I may never solve it. And that last sentence scares me.