1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Affection and labels???

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by Erzulie, Jun 12, 2016.

1. Erzulie

I just started dating my girlfriend a few months ago and she told me that I am a demisexual. I still feel like I'm pretty new to the LGBT community and the terminology is sometimes confusing. I never liked labels to begin with because a lot of them seem so vague compared to the feelings they are supposed to describe. She tried to explain it but I still don't really understand.

We have had some issues because she is an extremely affectionate person, and I am quite the opposite. I didn't realize how unaffectionate I am physically, and how unavailable I am emotionally, and now I just feel like an ice queen. Sometimes I feel like something is holding me back from being comfortable with showing affection. There's also something so off-putting when I can see that she wants to do something like make out. And as soon as I see that I get uncomfortable, and start to feel pressured. How do I deal with all this??? :bang:

2. Brytaleith

Disclaimer: take with 2 tablespoons of salt, pepper, spices and herbs. Season to taste.

Label are definitely supposed to be vague to a certain extent. Labels are used to group things, or people and therefore need some leeway if anyone is going to identify with that label.
    That is, table is a label (I'm sorry for the terrible rhyme it was unintentional). And "table" as a descriptor is vague because you can have loads of different kinds of tables, and you can also have things that are kind of tables but are they really tables?
    Which goes to show that labels aren't everything. If you find a label that fits you, that's great! And if you don't, you'll probably find one or make one yourself. I'd say it doesn't matter, but then people have found labeling feelings to be somewhat helpful, so it kind of does matter...