1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Asexual?

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by whaleking27, Aug 13, 2016.

1. whaleking27

I'm confused. I have been for a long time now... I'm not normally a person that has to DEFINE themselves but I can't help but think about this all the time, I am ATTRACTED to several (or many?) people but I just can't imagine myself having sex... maybe it's just a faze but I don't know. Anyone have any advice?

Krissy T likes this.
  2. Blood Elf

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Out Status:
    Some people
    It definitely sounds like a possibility. When I told my mom I was ace, she thought it was because I have zero experience in it, but that's not true as the thought of sex just grosses me out completely.

Whether it grosses you out or not, if you don't have sexual attraction, then chances are you're asexual. Phase? I don't know, orientation does change for some people at some point(s). You didn't give much detail so that's about all I can say.

3. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    If we're using the widely accepted definition of asexuality, then having attraction pretty much rules out being asexual. Under the widely accepted definition, asexuality is a complete lack of any attraction or interest in sexual activity. It is a hardwired sexual orientation in the same way that homo and heterosexuality is.

There are also alternative definitions put forth by a tiny-but-loud contingent of people that have no research, science, or basis for their definitions, and under those definitions, practically anyone can be asexual. But if you're going with what's widely accepted, then most likely you are not.