1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Questioning My Sexuality Identity

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by coffee coffee, Aug 14, 2016.

1. coffee coffee

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    I need help with interpreting my feelings toward different genders. I'm 25, and I have been struggling with interpreting my feelings toward different genders even though I've been analyzing it for 16 years. It's not a "cut and dry" identity, and I'm very aware of sexuality is a spectrum. However, it's hard for me to identify myself with anything because I'm not able to interpret my feelings fully by myself.

Here is my background of the process toward navigating through my sexual identity.... Let’s rewind back, when I was In kindergarten & 1st grade, I had a little crush on a boy since he was so cute. When I was nine, I watched "Annie", the movie, I thought Grace, Warbucks’s secretary, was so hot, she was dancing in her nighty, which was a turn on. Then, when I was eleven, I had a best friend for several years – I had an overwhelming urge to kiss and make out with her. My family is crazy Catholic, so they assimilated me to think same-sex attraction is not normal. They were neutral with gay stuff, but they taught me hetero-normativeness. So, I was under the impression that I shall be straight because my family is. when I had an urge to kiss my best friend, I felt ashamed, scared, mortified, and plain terrible. I remember thinking that I must want to kiss boys only, so I suppressed that kissing feeling toward her.