1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

As an abuse victim, how can I GENUINELY be sure of my sexuality?

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by theremustbemore, Aug 16, 2012.

1. theremustbemore

Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    So... I've been stressing out about my queer identity for a few months now. And for my own state of mind I'm just gonna do my best to put it all out here where I can sort out my individual thoughts on the matter before I go crazy second-guessing myself.

First off, let's make one thing clear: I love girls. I love kissing girls, I love touching them, I love how soft they feel and how beautiful and nurturing they are. I love the way they sigh, they laugh, they snuggle and the way they make me feel. I've only ever had sexual experiences with girls, and I've only really felt truly "in love" with a girl.

I didn't accept my sexuality until I was roughly thirteen or fourteen, and at the time I was already going through a lot of confusing shit in my life, so coming to terms with my attraction to the female sex was initually very scary and overwhelming for me. And a great deal of my friends, I felt, wouldn't have accepted me had I outed myself to them anyway (expressing sentiments I would later realize were homophobic; e.g. "gay guys are cool but lesbians are gross, etc") which created an added level of anxiety for me. (For the record, I did lose three very close friends when I outed myself, but there were many more that DID accept me, who, as it turns out, are still present in my life today.)