1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lesbian or just a 'Phase'

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by greenleaf, Mar 12, 2013.

1. greenleaf

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Hi all,

I have been questioning whether I am straight for a few years. I have had two relationships with males, one in high school and one in college. However, I really hated being physically intimate and/or kissing them and I didn't feel romantically attracted either. I dated them because I was flattered by their attention and I hoped that I would fall in love with them after a few dates. I have never really had a crush on a guy. However, right now I have a big crush on a girl in my class.

I have talked with my mom about my confusion, and I know she would support me whoever I am with. However, she basically said that she is scared that if I am gay I will not be able to have a satisfying long term relationship like she has enjoyed with my father. She also commented that she has always 'known' I was straight. This conversation confused me so much. I know it is silly, but I am really close with my mom and I don't want to disappoint her. I also am afraid it will change how people think about me and that I will lose my friends.

Any advice/support would be much appreciated!

2. thinthinline

If you're lesbian and you date a man, it's guaranteed you won't be as satisfied as your mother is in her straight relationship that is the correct orientation for her.

No physical and not enough emotional attraction to a man tells me you may be lesbian, especially combined with the fact that you've never had a crush on a guy but have one on a girl.