1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help with university computing please?

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by Islander, Jul 18, 2013.

?

What computing method is best at uni?

1. Laptop

6 vote(s)
    54.5%
  2. Netbook

1 vote(s)
    9.1%
  3. Notebook

1 vote(s)
    9.1%
  4. Macbook

2 vote(s)
    18.2%
  5. Tablet

1 vote(s)
    9.1%
  1. Islander

Hi all,

I am going to university in England in September, to study science (don't want to post my particular course here, too many details if someone on here knows me!) and I was wondering what people would advise in terms of what sort of computer to get, if at all? So should I get a laptop/netbook/tablet etc.?

Thanks,

Islander

2. Beware Of You

Well I have both a MacBook and a Netbook but I am on a PhD so I don't have lectures as such

3. littleoldme

as a uni student i take all my notes with pen and paper (i know shocking people still do that lol) but if i where to use something to take notes in class i think tablet would be best but for research and typing up assignments id say some sort of laptop, specifically one that has word coz mine doesnt and drives me bonkers

4. Maddy

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Not a tablet, unless you're really skilled at typing on them or you get a keyboard for it. Your best bet is something fairly light that you can type on quickly.

5. biggayguy

For science I would think you would want the versatility of a laptop with Wi-Fi. That way you wouldn't have to wait for a lab computer to be open to do your class work. You could also get an inexpensive MP4 recorder to record lectures. It's fairly easy to transfer MP4 files to your computer.

6. RainbowMan

Are you limited to purchasing one of these things?