1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem Player Issues & Gender Identity in D&D

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by Aard Rinn, Sep 15, 2013.

1. Aard Rinn

Trigger warnings for (brief, non-explicit) mention of rape below the jump.

So I've been DMing games occasionally for my school's GSA for a few years now - college level - and I've had a good time of it. Now I'm trying to get a campaign going, but I'm having some issues with one of my players.

R is 38, and a biologically male transgender woman. (I'm 18, btw.) She's been in several of my games, one of my more consistent players, and also one of my more experienced - although she does VtM and Second Edition, and I do 3.5, she's still a big help, if a bit rulesy for my taste.

However, I have an issue with R.

She has a very... particular character, one that I'm not really that comfortable with DMing. She enjoys playing young (14-18) female characters, usually elves or catfolk, who have been enslaved and only recently escaped, but who are still 'broken' from their captivity. She prefers them to have clear signs of their previous status, like collars or brands, and the backstories often have a kind of... rapey subtext, I guess you could call it? I pulled her aside at the first game I DMed with her, and said that that particular aspect of things was a hard limit for me, and I wouldn't DM a rape victim character, and she said that that wasn't her intent, but it's pretty clearly implied in the backstory, although she does usually reign it in.

However, this whole thing makes me really, really uncomfortable. I feel bad, because if R was bio!fem, I don't think I would have an issue with it. But the fact remains that, despite the leotards and skirts she wears, when I look at R I see a balding middle-aged man, and it makes me extremely uncomfortable.