1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anybody into PC building and gaming?

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by Jolly Roger, Jan 26, 2015.

1. Jolly Roger

Hi I'm new here and just wanted to start a thread about PC building to meet some people with similar
    Interests or talk to people possibly needing help or advice on the process of PC building or just other things involving PC Gaming. Yeah I know I probably sound stale already:lol:

2. Pret Allez

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I'm a PC builder, but I'm not as much of a gamer as I used to be. My interests now have gravitated strongly towards computer security, so I care a lot more about virtualization.

In fact, even my choice of graphics card was more influenced by the instruction set (and support for particular instructions better for cryptographic hash functions) than gaming.

This is my current build:

Core i7-2600K (stock)
    AMD R9 290 (stock)
    16GB RAM (some random, crappy 1600 Mhz DDR3)
    Corsair Neutron 240GB SSD

I would very much like to upgrade to Haswell-E, as I'm impressed by the architecture as well as the X99 chipset, and I love the idea of a faster memory standard. I think this is probably one of the biggest improvements in computer hardware lately. Nobody really cares about clock speeds anymore, although the speed of our memory is very important.

I hope to be able to do some interesting and fast math, including getting some hash preimages. :3

Also, welcome to the forum, sweetie!

Adrienne

3. Jolly Roger

Thanks for your warm welcome. :icon_bigg Yeah I haven't been doing a lot of gaming on my PC of late either, mainly due to school and the such. My rig is
    Fx 8350(OC 5.0ghz) on water
    Gtx 780 ti(1300mhz)
    8gb 1600mhz adata
    Samsung 120gb ssd boot
    2tb HDD mass storage