1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Art programs

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by ohmYGODWHY, May 10, 2015.

1. ohmYGODWHY

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Does anybody have any good suggestions regarding art programs? I've only ever used Ms Paint and Paint.net, so I don't have any digital art experience besides Pixel art. I'd like to practice, because as an artist I'd like to be able to use as many tools as possible.

2. LakanLunti

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Adobe Photoshop is, IMO, the best program for digital art.
    Adobe Illustrator is ok too, but I recommend learning PS first before this.
    You can also go with GIMP, since it's free.
    I havent try CorelDraw yet, but I have been reading lots of good reviews from it.

3. confuzzled82

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I've done work in the Engraving industry, and Corel is the standard there. CorelDraw is totally different than Adobe Photoshop, as it's primarily for working with vector (line) drawings, while Photoshop is more for working with bitmaps (like pictures). You'd probably want PhotoPaint if you are looking at the Corel equivalent to Adobe Photoshop.

4. Simple Thoughts

You can get Adobe Photoshop/illustrator/flash/edge/dreamweaver ect....in Adobe's Creative Cloud, but it'll cost you 60 bucks a month.

I don't know how much photoshop costs on its own, but I'm betting it's pricey ^^"

Gimp worked really well a few years back when I used it, and I haven't had a chance to play around with my copy of Photoshop ( been too busy playing with Flash )

5. CandyKing

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    A few people