1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

University laptop

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by ThatFrostyGuy, Aug 17, 2015.

1. ThatFrostyGuy

Just got confirmed I got into my university of choice (yay), and my parents have offered to buy me a laptop to take with me (how kind of them).

I'm doing a computer science degree, and I'm an avid gamer, so it needs to powerful. My parents are paying the first £600, but I can pay up to £600 on top of that. (£600 = about $935) It's an awful lot of money but hopefully it will last me my 4-5 years at uni and then some.

Just wondered if you guys have any ideas or own a gaming laptop in a similar price range, since I don't really know where to start looking and have always owned a desktop. I'm not very good at hardware, I'm a software kind of guy.

2. pinkpanther

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I recommend you to get something light and portable that won't wake up the roommate when you're going to be writing that report at 5am in the morning. If you're really into games you can get a second hand console or something similar, gaming laptops are very unwieldy and they attract too much attention in a university dorm. For such a setting consoles are much better investment. I've also seen people using them as a magnet to find possible friends, a laptop is a private machine, but a console can be enjoyed by more than one person.

Anyway, for gaming laptops check Alienware, MSI, or Republic of Gamers. But before buying one check the forums for problems that current owners are experiencing. If you see something that repeats over and over again, like a graphics card failing, overheating problems, or the wifi not working, etc., don't buy it.

3. Nocturnal

Nocturnal Guest

Here's one that's close to your price range that I would buy myself to start with. This one's good for its price as a gaming laptop.

Lenovo Y50