1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with Xcode for C++

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by AutomaticStop, Dec 28, 2012.

1. AutomaticStop

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    So I've recently been attempting to learn C++, and I'm still very new to it. I pretty much know nothing about computers and such, so I've been having some trouble. I'm on a Mac, and my cousin has been helping me get set up, but he's gone back to college three hours away now.
    Basically, if anyone could help me understand Xcode and how to get "command line tools", as my cousin said, I'd be really grateful. Also, for the sake of my sanity, assume that I don't know anything about computers, because that is not that far from the truth.

2. SunSparks

Sorry, I'm not familiar with C++ yet... I was thinking about that for this summer :slight_smile:
    Anyways, to get Command Line Tools, open the preferences (obviously in Xcode), go to download, and install it!

Sorry.... thats about all I know xD

3. SomeNights

dump it...try eclipse and GCC instead. If you google that. it'll be much easier than xcode

4. Owen

In Loving Memory Full Member

When I installed Xcode onto my laptop, the command line tools came along with it, so if you have Xcode, you should have those. (If you still need to get XCode, that's another matter entirely.) To actually access them, you need to use the program Terminal. It's in the Utilities folder in your Applications folder, which itself is in Macintosh HD.

As far as integrated development environments go, though, I prefer Visual Studio, which, sadly, isn't Mac compatible.

5. AutomaticStop

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people