1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by teaneko, Oct 13, 2013.

1. teaneko

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hello.

I just joined and got here, after looking for a place like this where I could post and get a sort of community-like experience while I work up the courage to get involved in real-life social situations.
    I'm a graduate student currently, from America living in the UK for a year, and after spending several years fighting with who I am I think I'm finally ready to accept it and learn how to function within that acceptance. Where I am from there was no support and I didn't feel quite safe or able to be who I am, and for that reason I am wary and a bit afraid to do so now. Yet, I feel like I'm old enough and I'm no longer quite so hateful toward and against myself that I can continue on this journey toward accepting myself and finding some confidence about it. So, hopefully by talking and meeting other people here who are in similar or have been in similar situations I can grow and become more confident and happy about this.
    I always thought that being gay happened to other people, and I was seriously bullied and mistreated growing up, so I was afraid to be more different and "abnormal". Thankfully I'm starting to learn that it's not wrong and it's OK, but I have told very, very few people and am certainly not ready to tell my family, though I know they will support me. I think they will be surprised since I don't "act" or dress like a lesbian as far as stereotypes go. I want to be accepting of myself and fully know who I am before sharing it with them.