1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by HotPeppers, Mar 19, 2014.

1. HotPeppers

Hello everyone,

I am trying this site at the suggestion of a member who tells me it is a t-inclusive LGBT site. I am trans*, but I have a bit of a complicated story that prevents terms like mtf or ftm from working very well for me.

Coming out for me was a disaster. I lost my entire family as well as my career. I've gone from a six figure salary to food stamps.

But because of this, I spend a lot of time working with trans* communities and supportive LGBT organizations to try and improve things. I am a lawyer, so I have represented trans* people on legal issues and continue to do so when I am able. I wear many hats in this community and I've been involved in many things. Some of my past and present projects outside of the courts include:
    (1) Working with a coalition of federal LGBT employee affinity groups to advocate for the federal government to include its trans* employees in their health insurance coverage;
    (2) Working to pass a statewide ban in on discrimination based on gender identity here in Maryland and helping to build the current 50+ org coalition leading that charge; and
    (3) Trying to bring people together to build a more unified community that fights among itself less.

I am the co-founder and current head of an organization called Maryland Trans*Unity. We seek to both provide safe space for trans* people and break the isolation of trans* people p together all the huge variety of identities in a space where they all are welcome and so too are even cispeople. As a result of this, we have had even cisgender people say that they have never before experienced such a welcoming feeling as they get when they come to our programs.