1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi I'm new to this forum and need help.

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by Lukethespectre, May 9, 2014.

1. Lukethespectre

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Hello everyone first off I want to say it is a pleasure to meet everyone I can in advance. This seems like a wonderful site for the LGBT community.

Now onto why I am on this website. I came to this site because I am starting my own company with my wife to publish a comic series, and would like to reach out to people to help me understand more about the LGBT community. As a writer I want to accurately portray the LGBT community with interesting characters in my stories. I hope that anyone who sees this and is interested wouldn't mind taking a small amount a time to tell me what you would to like to see in a Super Hero Comic book series. I want to do a real bang up job so that I can really give everyone characters that inspire. I honestly admit that the LGBT community hasn't been accurately represented in comics along with many other groups. But I want to help change that.

2. BookDragon

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Probably not the answer you are looking for but the best way to treat and LGBT character in a format like that is to treat them like anyone else.

Half the problem with misrepresentation is that people have a tendency to assume that being LGBT is what defines us, as if it's the MOST important thing in our lives.

I, for example, am trans and pansexual. If I were to be turned into a cartoon character by someone, you can bet your life that it would be a constant commentary about how I used to be a man and wondering how I cope, as opposed to other characters just treating me as female!