1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need support in the Middle East

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by richyinuae, Jul 20, 2014.

1. richyinuae

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hi, my name is Richard, and I'm originally from the US but I live in the Middle East/Persian/Arabian Gulf now.

I'm a professor in a university out here, and I really love being in this region for a number of reasons. Well, the people are so attractive (Arabs, Iranians, Pakistanis, Indians), but besides that, there is such a mix of cultures here...and it's easy to travel to all these wonderful exotic, traditional and historical places. There is very, very little crime here, and the pay is great and tax free. People are very friendly in my circle of friends, although the society and the lifestyle is getting very upscale and materialistic in the last decade or so.

I have so many interests, and I love all people. I just get so much out of meeting and being with all the wonderful friends and acquaintances I have been blessed with here from all over the world.

I'm trying to get some support for my issues which are engaging in unsafe sex, and get some advice about the effects and need to control anonymous sex.

Specifically, I need to think of practical ways I can motivate myself to always use a condom. The issue is not so simple. It has to do with the very low rate of HIV over here, the unlimited chances to have sex with almost any type of local guy I want, the psychology of why people take risks, the excitement of exchanging body fluids, and the need to do more novel things if one has done it so many times. I would like to know people I can check in with on this issue to help motivate me that I am "doing it." Maybe I should open a thread on this? I wish there were an online support group for this. Over here, it wouldn't go down well.