1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Massive Step, Still Cautious

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by ryanthewriter, Jul 20, 2014.

1. ryanthewriter

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Hey everyone!

I'm new here and only within the last couple days admitted to myself that I was bi. I've always known that I was attracted to both boys and girls but it wasn't something I could admit to myself because I so desperately wanted to fit in -- normal/popular guys only liked girls…

I graduated college a month ago and I've been dealing with some pretty emotional stuff. Timidity about pursuing my chosen career path, unsure about my goals, questioning what I want out of life. And it wasn't until I chiseled my way through that layer of self-doubt was I able to really look inward and think about who I am. The fact that I'm attracted to guys has been staring right at me all my life and I flat out refused to acknowledge it day, by day, by day. After all the tears, the insecurity and paralyzing self-doubt, I'm finally tired of tolerating my own soul-mutilating blindness. It's time to grow up and accept reality. No matter how much you try to look away or put up barriers, reality's always gaping right at you. The all-american staring contest champ…

Reality's a bitch.

Mom & Dad live on the other side of the country. It's not like they'd know if I came out publicly in my town but I still can't bring myself to do it yet. I think it's still something I'm having trouble accepting believe it or not. Funny how you think you're taking a massive step but in comparison to most it's nothing more than a baby's. I guess it's something to me…

Anyway I've come to this forum to help guide me through this…interesting…new development in my life. Hope to talk to lots of great people and hear some great advice.

Thanks!!!!!!

-Ryan

#1 ryanthewriter, Jul 20, 2014