1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Another newbie here, hello!

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by Candide, Sep 7, 2014.

1. Candide

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Hello everyone,

I'll try not to make this post too rambling!

I was very happy to read, as a guest, some posts from maturer people who have recently discovered their sexuality. In this day and age everyone is forced into sex/sexuality quite quickly, which is why I initially felt a bit silly in my recent realisation at age 27.
    I've had a chronic illness for 10 years now, and sex and attraction has been the last thing on my mind. I first became ill at 17, and my experience with sex was trying to avoid it. I had boyfriends and I never allowed them to do anything with me - I hated being touched. I didn't feel attracted to them at all (although from afar I had thought they were aesthetically attractive) and I tried to avoid any intimacy. Going from this into illness I thought I was asexual - men had been my only experience of sexuality. I never even considered any other option. I was both "young" and "asexual", those were my excuses.

A short while ago a friend of mine asked me what my sexuality was and, as I'm not a girly girl, if I wanted to change my gender. I said I was happy with my gender but even I wasn't convinced when I said asexual. He asked me if I'd ever be with a woman, and I said that the idea doesn't put me off.
    I realised my own words! I doesn't put me off. I run from men, but women don't put me off. I finally allowed myself to consider that possibility, and to look at women in a different way. So many different feelings came upon me, I couldn't believe it.
    My illness had put everything on hold in terms of exploring my own sexuality, but if I was honest the answer had been there a long time. I finally saw why I always felt at odds with so many things.