1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hey, guys!

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by Writers Voice, Oct 6, 2014.

1. Writers Voice

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Hey there, what's up? I'm not quite sure where to start, forums in general are rather new to me, so forgive me if this doesn't seem very connected! In a few words, I'm a straight guy from Eastern Europe who loves videogames, books, comic books, geeky movies and TV shows, anime - the complete package. I've actually studied game design in college and have made a couple of indie games myself, though I don't think I'm allowed to say which ones, considering the whole "complete anonymity" rule this site has, but suffice to say, I've got experience in the area!

As the name would suggest, I'm also a writer - I've written a few books (none of which have been published, though it's not like I've tried to get them on shelves too hard) and am currently hard at work on what's basically my dream project, which is a comic book that just so happens to have a very diverse cast, with roughly half of its protagonists belonging to the LGBT community. Until now, I've basically been writing them like I would write any other character, just with this extra quality about them that defines part of who they are. But recently, I started watching the videos of certain gay youtubers like the awesome Arielle Scarcella, and I've come to realize that my approach probably wasn't the right one. There seems to be an entire LGBT culture that I'm not familiar with, so writing LGBT characters without familiarizing myself with what it means to be a part of this community just wouldn't be fair. As such, I've decided to join this forum and (hopefully) join the community myself, at least in some small part.