1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi from Florida!

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by Ceasg, Oct 22, 2014.

1. Ceasg

Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I'm very new to this whole LGBTQ+ concept. Hoping you all can give me some tips in how to explore my sexuality and just in general help me not to be so confused. :smilewave

I guess I should try to start from the beginning.. this year has just been an overall confusing time for me, breaking away from my super conservative Christian upbringing complete with loving but unfortunately gay bashing, other religions bashing parents, and trying to find my own way in the world. Growing up, my mother homeschooled my sister and I and kept us away from public school kids so we really only interacted with other fundamentalist Christian homeschoolers all the way through highschool. We were taught that evolution was just made up mumbojumbo and that science really didn't offer much nowadays. And of course that you had to be "saved" and try to save everyone else from the blazing inferno of hell (good job instilling fear at a young age!). Those "gay people" were put on the same level of pedophiles and people who had sex with animals. Wrong wrong wrong. Imagine my surprise when recently I came to a crisis of faith and also found I was repressing an attraction to women! :icon_bigg In any case I've got a lot of hammered in false concepts to overcome in both my spiritual (if you want to call it that) and emotional and sexual life.