1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

someone walled in the doorway of my closet...

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by Wildside, Nov 16, 2014.

1. Wildside

Wildside Guest

there are good days and bad days in my closet, but it's always a closet. I've always been gay. Yeah, I know that's how it works, but when I was young they said it was a choice, so I kept choosing to be straight but kept having sex with other men because of my "weakness." Looking back, I know that I was always suspecting and getting the signs but refusing to believe it. When I was 10, I was afraid that I might be gay. When I was 13, I started high school and couldn't control the raging erections that I would always get in the locker rooms (before learning how to take care of those by myself at home, it was a real problem). I was a virgin when I graduated from college, probably because I had no interest in chasing after girls and no opportunities in my homophobic environment to explore with other young men. Then I began a lifetime of risky anonymous sex, repenting, and then returning to the same. I married believing that I really was straight, and that the sex would cure me. I married the first woman I could, and the marriage has survived for 35 years despite not really liking each other much or having anything in common. We haven't had sex for years. She is almost asexual, and that takes pressure off me. We had three kids in the process (obviously there was some sex), and I love them dearly. My wife is very dependent, and I am afraid that coming out to her would be so devastating. Well, about five years ago I finally figured out that the reason I keep having sex with men is that I'm gay. Earlier this year, I confessed it to a priest, and he told me that I need to stop pretending to be someone I'm not and come out, and be authentically the person God created me to be; that I could never reach my potential while li