1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hey.

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by emri, Jan 17, 2015.

1. emri

So, uhm, I'm kinda bad at introductions and talking about myself, but I'll give it a try. And yeah, I just started this sentence about ten times and deleted it because writing about this to anyone but my sister/best friend is difficult. Anyway, here it goes...

I'm 26 and I just started to really accept the idea that I'm queer after my sister started asking me why all the stories I write (I'm a YA writer currently in the process of trying to find an agent) are about gay and lesbian teens. I prefer the word "queer" but "bi" and "pan" also work for me, as long as the definition means "attracted to multiple genders." Going by the Kinsey scale I range from 2 to 4, recently I feel like I'm toward the high end of 4.

The gender thing, though. That's something I'm dealing with. I'm not sure I ever felt completely male, but I'm sure I'm not female. I think I like the androgyne label for now. The idea of being androgynous feels right, at least more right than being male. I'm still trying to figure it all out, though.

For a little more about me aside from that, I'm a nerd who can't find a way to divide their (any pronouns work for me, by the way) time between writing, reading, and playing video games. I can spend a month speeding through a first draft of a manuscript, but then spend the entire next month playing Dragon Age during every space minute, and I've been known to drop everything else I'm doing the moment I get my hands on a new A.S. King novel. I feel like I might be rambling, so I'll stop myself now.

2. newby1991

Welcome to EC. I was same as you just yesterday in terms of writing about my problems for this entire community to see.

I think it was like 10 drafts drafts and 5 hours later I finally built up the courage to post what I wanted to say.