1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Don't want to lie anymore.

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by dyinginside, Jun 30, 2015.

1. dyinginside

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    I'm not too good at social stuff...but here goes...

I am 22 years old, female, and have basically lived my entire life a lie. I am a survivor of childhood sexual abuse. I don't know if, in my case, that plays a role in this or not. I grew up with my mother constantly reminding me that I was to marry a man, not a woman (it's actually one of the first conversations I remember us having). But I've been attracted to the same sex even before I knew what was happening. In elementary school I had crushes on female teachers who I would talk about enthusiastically.

To this day I pretend to be interested in men. After I have sex with a male, I have to block it out in my mind. Something about a man touching me, or being near me physically, makes me sick physically and emotionally. The thought of a guy getting hard for me is something I can't even make myself think about. I'm confused about rather or not this relates to trauma, or if I was indeed born this way. I have also been diagnosed with Bipolar disorder.

I have a female best friend (and room mate, for now) who is the most open minded person I know but straight as an arrow. I am not sexually attracted to her in any way...I consider her to be a sister to me. But I'm terrified of telling her the truth because even if she accepts me, I fear that she'll think of me differently. Now we spend a lot of time talking about guys and guy extremieites ,we have been nude in front of each other too. I don't want to lose her as a supportive person in my life.