1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm new to this, looking for some helpful advice

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by Huckleberry24, Jun 30, 2015.

1. Huckleberry24

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Hi everyone, I'm new here (to this site as well as to the LGBT community)

I read about this site on a column about being new to lesbianism. One of the steps was to seek online support groups, so I'm here. I've recently come to realize that I'm most likely a lesbian, and I'd like to get to know others like me.

A bit about me; I'm 24 years old, and for the last 21-22 years I thought I was straight. I've never really been in a serious relationship, so I don't have much experience to go off of, and I don't know if that's bad or not. I've never had good luck with guys, and the few that I did date terrified me. I would be fine in public or around family and friends, but when left alone I became rather anxious and just wanted to get away. That is one of the things that has made me question my sexuality. Another one, and the most influential, is my relationship with my used-to-be best friend. I didn't know it at the time, but looking back now I realize that I was in love with her. I always treated our relationship differently than any other friendship I'd had. I would get jealous when she would go out on dates, I would always want to spend time with her, and again I didn't realize it until after the fact, but I used to check her out and admire her quite frequently. She must have caught on to all of this, because suddenly we weren't friends anymore and I had no idea why. I was completely distraught for months after this, and it took me a good solid year to finally be okay with it. Later I had a conversation with a mutual friend of ours who told me that her sister told them she thought I was gay for her (my BF). I scoffed and denied it, but it planted a seed.