1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi!

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by CommasGalore, Jul 21, 2015.

1. CommasGalore

Well, well, I suppose now that I've finally worked up the nerve to join this site, I should probably introduce myself.

I can't exactly say I'm new to questioning. For a while I hung around in that awkward, not-knowing state pertaining to sexual orientation. Luckily for me though, I've pretty much come to terms with the fact that, yeah, I like girls, and probably just girls, although I try to keep an open mind.

I do have some friends who aren't straight, and helped me so much trying to get a handle on what I was really feeling. They were wonderful, and I'm so, so thankful. However, my situation is made a little more complicated than theirs--

I'm not sure of my gender.

Many trans people describe knowing their gender since they were kids. I've never had that experience. I was a pretty feminine child, wearing one dress over another. My friends were a mixed bunch, yes, but I never had an issue with behaving like a stereotypical girl. Even as I broke away from this extreme form of femininity, I continued to identify as a cis girl without a problem.

Then I hit puberty. As much as I dreaded the frustration of teenage years (I was a late bloomer, and my friends complaints did nothing to brighten my spirits), it was much worse than I anticipated. I watched with horror as breasts began to develop. I hated them, I really did. I just wanted them gone completely. However, I figured it was just a normal part of puberty, and I would get used to them.