1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Introduction

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by closetcase82, Jan 4, 2009.

1. closetcase82

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I'm a 26 year old guy, who as many of you have probably surmised from my screen name, is currently a gay man trying to pose as a straight man. Now, the reality is, that I know I'm one of these guys who registers on peoples "gay-dars", and I'm probably only fooling myself in not being true to what I know that I am.

I am currently involved in a straight relationship, with a girl who apparently has no "gay-dar" and is definitely very into me. I realize that it is completely selfish of me to be stringing her along, and that this is a relationship that I need to break off asap. I'm basically using her to keep up my facade. I have limited relationship experience. This girl is the only real girlfriend I've ever had, and we've only been seeing each other for a little over four months. I became involved in the relationship with the intent to learn to be straight, as ridiculous as that sounds. I've only had two sexual partners, both of whom were female.

I'm not sure exactly what I hope to gain from posting this little intro, but I feel like I need to tell these things to someone. I don't have any gay friends to talk to about this stuff, and I look forwarding into getting some feedback: constructive criticism welcome. I live in a very rural area that's not exactly gay friendly. I am, however, only about an hour's drive from Seattle.

I don't know what to do. I know that I'm gay, but I'm not sure that I want to come out to my elderly religious parents. I'm not as worried about reactions from my siblings; they strike me as supportive of me no matter what. I've considered just moving to Seattle and starting over there...within driving distance of my family - let them think what they may. Is that ridiculous?