1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by gravwavesisbae, Mar 13, 2016.

1. gravwavesisbae

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Hello,

So I'm at a bit of a loss for what to start with, so I'm just gonna start typing and see what happens.

I am a 19 year-old college student who up until 2015 year had at least some sort of confidence in their identity. I had grown up in a very Catholic, conservative space and had usually done what was expected of me. In kind of a stereotypical fashion, I attended Catholic school for ten years, went to an all-male Catholic high school that advocated well-intentioned but highly patriarchal values, and fit into the nice Catholic boy stereotype. I devoted myself entirely to my work, tried to become the ~perfect student~, and kinda shut out everything else that wasn't conducive to that path. I never had a relationship, never had a real crush, and never even had my first kiss.

I was also an actor, and through theater I met many gay and lesbian artists whom I often did high school productions with. Theater also introduced me to drag. I had done two productions in high school in which I played a character in drag, mostly because I was the only one open to it. I continued to do drag when I got to college. Mostly it was within a theatrical context, but there were a series of "sexual liberation" parties I went to with friends where I wore varying degrees of makeup and sometimes dresses. Looking back it seemed a bit appropriative, especially since I had not personally identified with drag culture, but at the time it was fun and freeing.